Our Leadership

Board of Trustees


A board of 16 trustees governs Portico Benefit Services and the administration of its assets. As stewards to the ELCA, trustees share their financial and managerial expertise, professional integrity, and dedication to God and this church. Trustees are elected to serve a three-year term, with up to two consecutive re-elections, at the ELCA’s triennial Churchwide Assembly – this church’s highest legislative authority.

Default Closed

  • Vincent P. Brown (Secretary)
    Retired Deputy Treasurer
    Office of the California State Treasurer
    Sacramento, CA
    Term 2019 – 2022

  • Catharine C. Burkett
    Vice President, Director of Private Investments
    LCG Associates
    Atlanta, GA
    Term 2019 – 2022

  • Angela M. Dejene
    Dejene Communications
    Corcoran, MN
    Term 2019 – 2022

  • Dr. Helen I. Doerpinghaus
    Retired Professor of Finance
    University of South Carolina
    Columbia, SC
    Term 2018 – 2022

  • Peter J. Enko
    Husch Blackwell
    Kansas City, MO
    Term 2013 – 2022

  • Diana G. Haywood
    Retired Director of Data Administration
    University of North Carolina
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Term 2012 – 2022

  • John R. Hoffman
    SVP of National Advisory Group
    VisionPoint Advisory Group
    Minnetonka, MN
    Term 2015 – 2022

  • Dr. Bruce E. Johnson
    Retired Professor of Medicine
    VA Tech Carilion School of Medicine
    Roanoke, VA
    Term 2013 – 2022

  • Lori A. Lewis (Vice Chair)
    Management Consultant
    Colfax, WI
    Term 2017 – 2022

  • Todd J. Maloy
    Chief Investment Officer
    Edward Jones Trust Company
    St. Louis, MO
    Term – 2021-2022

  • Jennifer L. McGinnis
    Chief Actuary
    Farmers New World Life
    Bellevue, WA
    Term 2017 – 2022

  • Frank A. Roth
    General Counsel & Secretary,
    Board of Trustees, Lehigh University
    Bethlehem, PA
    Term 2016 – 2022

  • The Rev. Dr. Thomas P. Schlotterback
    Vice President of Mission Advancement
    St. John’s United
    Billings, MT
    Term 2019 – 2022

  • Leon J. Schwartz (Chair)
    President and CEO
    Black Lion Consulting
    Greenfield, IA
    Term 2013 – 2022

  • The Rev. Kathie Bender Schwich
    Chief Spiritual Officer
    Advocate Aurora Health
    Downers Grove, IL
    Term 2019 – 2022

  • The Rev. Elizabeth-Ann (Becky) Swanson
    Pastor, Advent Lutheran Church
    Morton, IL
    Term 2016 – 2022

Advisory Members

Advisory members serve according to the Constitutions, Bylaws, and Continuing Resolutions of the ELCA, and have a voice but not a vote.

The Rev. James S. Dunlop, Bishop, Lower Susquehanna Synod
Lori S. Fedyk, ELCA Treasurer
Deacon Sue E. Rothmeyer, ELCA Secretary

Default Closed
Meeting Schedule

2022 – 2025 Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule

February 24 – 25 Minneapolis
August 4 – 5 Minneapolis
November 3 – 4 Minneapolis
February 23 – 24 Chicago – Lutheran Center
August 3 – 4 Minneapolis
November 2 – 3 Minneapolis
February 22 – 23 Minneapolis
August 8 – 9 Minneapolis
November 7 – 8 Minneapolis
February 27 – 28 Minneapolis
August 7 – 8 Minneapolis
November 6 – 7 Minneapolis

Executive Team


Our executive leaders guide Portico’s business strategy and goals with a strong commitment to serving members with integrity, excellence, and respect.

Jeff Thieman

The Rev. Jeffrey D. Thiemann

President and Chief Executive Officer

Stacy Kruse

Stacy A. Kruse

Chief Operating and Financial Officer

Portico Chief Investment Officer David Quello

David Quello

Chief Investment Officer

Key Staff


Our employees dedicate themselves to the Portico Benefit Services mission. Here’s information on key staff members.

Ross Eichelberger Portico

Ross Eichelberger

Vice President of Business Development

Portico Business Development Manager Will Stensrud

Will Stensrud

Business Development Manager

Christine Vitelli

Christine Vitelli

Business Development Manager

Christina Womack

Christina Womack

Relationship Manager

Andrew Feller

Andrew Feller

Benefit Specialist

Regional Reps


Portico regional representatives serve as the front-line contacts for ELCA regions, synods, and new or potential employers. Regional representatives are available as resources for events and benefit information. Learn more about ELCA regions and synods on the ELCA website

Portico Regional Rep Shelley Cunningham

The Rev. Shelley Cunningham

Portico Regional Rep Andrea Arey

Andrea L. Arey


Portico Regional Rep Rev Cathy Schibler

The Rev. Cathy Schibler


Portico Regional Rep Deacon Terri Endres

Deacon Terri Endres


Portico Regional Rep Jennifer Prinz

Jennifer L. Prinz


Portico Regional Rep Barbara Debski

Barbara L. Debski


Regions 4, 7, and 9 are connected with regional representatives as follows

Region 4

Deacon Terri Endres
Nebraska Synod
Texas-Louisiana Gulf Coast Synod
Southwest Texas Synod
Northern Texas-Northern Louisiana Synod

Jennifer Prinz
Central States Synod

Barbara Debski
Arkansas-Oklahoma Synod

Region 7

The Rev. Cathy Schibler
Upstate New York Synod
Metropolitan New York Synod
Slovak Zion Synod
New England Synod

Barbara Debski
Northeastern Pennsylvania Synod
Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod
New Jersey Synod

Region 9

The Rev. Cathy Schibler
North Carolina Synod
South Carolina Synod
Florida-Bahamas Synod

Barbara Debski
Virginia Synod
Southeastern Synod
Caribbean Synod

Strive Team

Our company-supported STRIVE employee team (Stewards That Respect Inclusion and Value Equity) leads initiatives to help us uphold and build workplace culture.